Seven Years of Blogging

WordPress informs me that it was seven years ago on January 17th 2008, that I registered this blog with them and made my first post, with not the faintest clue what I was going to do with this shiny new toy. It took me some time to figure it out and to focus on book blogging, but I have not looked back since.Β  A total of 326 posts, 12,825 views and 266 comments later I’m still (and even with the occasional extended lapse) having fun with this. Which is to no small part due to the very few but very much appreciated regular readers of this blog (you know who you are – thank you all very much!).

I was tempted to celebrate this with some Valer Barma-Sabadus (for which you could have blamed Leander and her infectuous enthusiasm for Baroque opera), but I decided to keep more in style with the other stuff I’ve posted here, so have some Justin Townes Earle instead:

5 comments

  1. Oh, happy blog birthday! Or bloggiversary, or whatever one calls it. Seven years! Congratulations and bravo. Wow. I’m definitely wet behind the ears in comparison to that. I’m so pleased that despite the inevitable pauses (we all get them), you keep introducing me to mind-bendingly complex, challenging or frankly just sometimes rather weird books. And, from a personal point of view, I’m immensely grateful for your eternal patience and sense of humour when yet another massively excitable email comes through from me. Here’s to the next seven years! πŸ˜€

    P.S. I can hear Valer sobbing into his feathers from here, you know. Cruelly and heartlessly dismissed in favour of Justin Townes Earle! Scandalous… πŸ˜›

  2. Thank you! Getting to be friends with fellow bloggers who I certainly who I’d never met otherwise is certainly one of the benefits of blogging I was not expecting when I was starting out, and I even think that for me that’s the best thing to have come out of it. πŸ™‚

    And I’m sure Valer will cope, he’s a big boy after all, and Justin needs some love, too!

Leave a Reply

