Update

Only a quick and small post to let everyone know that I’m still around – it’s just my usual combination of vacation / sickness / blogging slump again, but posts should be popping up here again fairly soon. On further reason why the blog has been a tad quiet recently though, is that some of my energies have been diverting towards Goodreads – I’m still resisting doing any reading updates there but have gotten myself entangled in various groups. For those irrepressibly curious, I’m there as Larou, same as on Librarything (which I still like way better for keeping track of my books, but I guess I’ll have to grudgingly admit that the social functions on Goodreads have something going for them).

4 comments

  1. Hello Heloise! Glad to hear all is well. I didn’t realise you were on LibraryThing so I am going to mosey on over there and add you as a friend. I am on GoodReads too but only really as a placeholder. All the action in my library happens over at LT 🙂

  2. There’s actually a “Recently Added Books” widget on the sidebar here that leads to my LT profile – unfortunately I can’t use any of the prettier widgets they have because WordPress does not allow Java in widgets.
    And yes, for cataloging LT is considerably better than GR which is an incredible mess – not sure if it is just the greater amount of users or that LT has a big percentage of librarians among its members but it’s (comparatively) well ordered. Plus, it has a lot of nifty features and generally is just more fun. 😛

  3. I’ve just seen you’re reading a book about the Sagas of the Icelanders. That is so cool! I almost bought the new book about Snorri Sturluson when I was in New York a few months ago, but I just have so many books to read at the moment that I couldn’t justify picking up another. Soon, though… Just in time for the huge Viking exhibition that’s going to be at the British Museum next year, perhaps 🙂 Let me know how your book is!

  4. Hehe, the only reason I started Sagas of the Islanders is because it’s preparatory reading for a group reading of William Vollmann’s The Ice Shirt. 😛 I’m enjoying it quite a bit so far, I’m even considering it reading some more saga-related novels while I’m at it.

    And I’ll of course be writing a post on the book when I’m done with it (well, some after I’m done with it…). In the meantime, here’s the group discussion on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

