Book Diary: Penny Watson – Sweet Inspiration

Sweet Inspiration by Penny WatsonPenny Watson is one of my favourite Romance bloggers; I was somewhat surprised to find out that she is writing Romance novels, too. As those are Christmas-themed, things normally would have stayed there, but for some reason I was in the mood for some holiday cheer, so thought I’d give it a try. With the understanding that Christmas Romances usually aren’t my glass of eggnogg, I have to say that the premise for Sweet Inspiration was somewhat silly but extremely cute, the plot involves lots of baking of yummy cookies and all of the characters (including a red-haired baker, buff Santa and his five hunky sons and several elves. No reindeers, though, as those are a myth) are very likeable.

On the downside, you really notice that this is a first novel (at least that’s what I’m assuming it is) – the writing is rather too rich in adjectives and the plot just chugs along, with most conflicts resolved almost the moment they are happening and a general lack of drama. Overall, it was still fun though, and I’ll likely pick up the second volume in the series.

Leave a Reply

