Book Diary: Patricia Wrede – Dealing With Dragons

Dealing with Dragons: The Enchanted Forest…I do not read much in the way of children’s literature or literature for adolescents, but I do make the occasional exception if something catches my fancy. I had read good things about Patricia Wrede’s Enchanted Forest series and it looked charming, so I decided to give it a try and got myself the boxed set a while ago. When I recently had to spend a day in bed due to being sick, I plucked the first volume off my TBR pile,  and it turned out to be the perfect read for the occasion.

Dealing with Dragons takes a generous amount of fairy tale and fantasy tropes, pours them into a medium-sized bowl together with a spunky heroine, likeable secondary characters and a basic mystery plot, then mixes, stirs and whips it all into a light frothy mousse au conte de fées that is just sweet enough to flatter the palate without becoming cloyingly saccharine. In other words: It was great fun and I’m (almost) looking forward to the next time I’m sick just so that I can start munching on the next volume.

Leave a Reply

